Click acá para ir directamente al contenido

Declaration of the South American countries members of the Brasilia Consensus

Wednesday, January 10th 2024

The South American countries members of the Brasilia Consensus: Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Guyana, Suriname, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela, express their most decisive rejection of the violence committed by groups related to organized crime and convey their explicit and unequivocal support and solidarity to the people and the authorities of Ecuador, also member of the Consensus, in their fight against the actions of organized crime.

The Brasilia Consensus will join efforts to combat this scourge, which affects the entire region in a coordinated manner, under the principles of International Law and the domestic laws of each South American country.

We hope for a prompt reestablishment of security and public order within the framework of the rule of law and the current institutional framework in Ecuador, with adherence and respect for democracy and human rights.
The member countries of the Brasilia Consensus reiterate their solidarity to the authorities and the Ecuadorian people during these difficult times and particularly to the victims of these acts of violence.