Click acá para ir directamente al contenido

Chile and the entry into force of CPTPP

Tuesday, Frebuary 21st 2023

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs informs that today, Tuesday 21st February, the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) has entered into force. Chile thus becomes the tenth economy to become a full member of this treaty, which is also signed by Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam.

Last night, Monday 20, our country participated for the first time as a full member in the virtual meeting of senior officials of the CPTPP (SOM), coordinated by New Zealand as host country.

The government is moving forward with the implementation of this treaty through the Inter-Ministerial Committee for International Economic Negotiations. And with this entry into force, the proper implementation of the CPTPP will be coordinated with the actors involved.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs, through the Undersecretariat for International Economic Relations (SUBREI), will continue to work together with its CPTPP trading partners and in other international fora to advance in the reform and modernisation of investor-state dispute settlement mechanisms.

More information on the CPTPP is available at the following link on the website of the Undersecretariat for International Economic Relations: