Click acá para ir directamente al contenido

Statement by the Lima Group on Venezuela

Saturday, September 15, 2018

The Governments of Argentina, Brazil, Costa Rica, Chile, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru and Saint Lucia, member countries of the Lima Group, reaffirm their commitment to contribute to the restoration of democracy in Venezuela and to overcoming the serious political, economic, social and humanitarian crisis in that country through a peaceful and negotiated solution. In this sense, they will continue to promote initiatives to this end within the framework of International Law.

They once again urge the Venezuelan regime to put an end to human rights violations, to free political prisoners, to respect the autonomy of the powers of the State and to assume its responsibility for the serious crisis that Venezuela is experiencing today.

They also express their concern and rejection of any course of action or declaration that implies military intervention or the exercise of violence, the threat or use of force in Venezuela.