Click acá para ir directamente al contenido

Press release from the Lima Group

Monday, May 14, 2018

As agreed in the Lima Declaration of April 14, 2018, the ministers and representatives of the Ministries of Foreign Affairs and Finance of Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru and Saint Lucia, with the participation of Spain and, through videoconference, the Secretary of State of the United States and senior officials of the United States Treasury Department, met to discuss the situation in Venezuela and the worsening political, economic, social and humanitarian crisis in that country.

The participating countries reiterated their condemnation of the authoritarian regime prevailing in Venezuela, which has violated democratic institutions, the rule of law and respect for human rights and has called for an illegitimate and discredited electoral process.

They make a final call to the Venezuelan Government to suspend the general elections scheduled for May 20, since they have been called by an illegitimate authority, without the participation of all Venezuelan political actors, without independent international observation and without the necessary guarantees for a free, fair, transparent and democratic process.

As a result of the working meeting, the participants exchanged information, analysed possible scenarios and identified a series of actions they could take collectively or individually after May 20, in the diplomatic, economic, financial and humanitarian fields.

The participating countries reiterated their commitment to continue analysing and taking actions and initiatives aimed at contributing to the restoration of democratic institutions, respect for human rights and full respect for the rule of law in that neighbouring country.