Click acá para ir directamente al contenido

Declaration of the Lima Group

Wednesday, January 23, 2019

The governments of Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras, Panama, Paraguay and Peru express the following:

1. They recognize and express their full support for the President of the National Assembly, Juan Guaidó, who has today accepted responsibility as interim President of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela, in accordance with the constitutional norms and the illegitimacy of the Nicolás Maduro regime.

2. They support the beginning of the process of democratic transition in Venezuela within the framework of its constitution, in order to hold new elections, in the shortest time and with the participation of all political actors and the international guarantees and standards necessary for a democratic process.

3. They condemn the acts of violence that occurred in Venezuela and urge the Nicolás Maduro regime to adopt measures to guarantee the rule of law and the fundamental rights of the people and recover social peace, while the transition of government takes place.

4. They affirm their decision to continue strongly supporting the restoration of democracy in Venezuela.